August 15, 2007

We're gonna eeeeeelope to Meh he he ico

Haha. So. The last few days of mine were spent in a town called Tequesquitengo (or something spelt similarly), CD México and Guadalajara. And well. Mazatlán. But like. That doesn't count cause I live here.

So yeah. It was the 50th wedding anniversary of my 'new grandparents' and so we went to the family's lake house in Tequesquitengo. And just like. Hung out for a few days. There were like. 30 of us. Which was pretty cool. People were swimming in the pool, water skiing, whatever. It was awesome. And we had awesome weather the whole time we were there too. So yeah. The house was pretty much like Edrom Lodge, for those of you who know what that is. And yeah. Mexican. And full of awesome food. Except beans are not awesome. Nor avocado, which I hope is spelt right, cause I can only really remember Spanish for it.

And yeah. In Teques my brother went sky diving. And I so wanted to. But you know. Crappy Rotary Laws =P. And the rest of my family went Ultralighting. Which are these weird half plane things and like. You get up to a certain altitude and then free fall until you like. Smack into the ground. But you know. Gently. If you've ever seen that goose movie with the girl from X-Men then those are ultralights. Or I suppose you could always google them.

Yah. So Then we moved the party to Mexico City because that is where pretty much everyone in my family grew up. And yeah. Stayed in the house of my somehow related people friends. Its complicated. I think that the husband is my Dad's brother and that the wife is my Mum's cousin. Its something screwy like that. Could be the other way around. Who knows. Anyway. We stayed in a part of Mexico City known as Coyoacan. Which is named so because of the coyote population that used to dominate that area. And yeah. Its sooooo pretty. I love it. And. Its like. way close to awesome food and Frida Khalo's house. Which I couldn't enter because it was closed when we went. But I went on a tour of Coyoacan with my mum and its a very cultural area. Trotsky used to live there, theres art galleries. And lots of cool stuff. And yeah. Pretty much my entire family either lives or has lived in Coyoacan. And I plan on living there one day too. When I have an excuse to live in Mexico City.

So yeah. The anniversary party itself was... Well it was ok. First we spent the afternoon in a church. At a church service. And I discovered that I'm really truly freaked out by Catholics. Or at least Mexican Catholic church services. And well. The churches themselves. I hate all those morbid bloody pictures of Christ with nails in him and getting whipped and stuff. And those cherub things. Just. Are creepy to me. So. Wont be doing so much hanging out in churches for awhile.

But yeah. After that we went to this restaurant/bar/theatre place for the party. Where we had a room. And just stayed there from about 5 till 1 in the morning. And ate (food was awesome) and drank and danced. And sat there looking awesome in our formal attire. Well you know. Most people did. I think I managed to avoid being photographed all night so hah. No pictures of fat Niki in her awesome dress. Hahaha. Once I've shaken my Rotary weight I'll put it on again and then show you a picture. Though like. You might be waiting awhile. It was, however, an awesome dress.

Blah. So yeah. Then after Mexico City we went to Guadalajara. Which is the biggest pain in the but to type. Why on earth does it need so many 'a's?! And yeah. Stayed at some cousin's house. It was an amazingly awesome house too. Like Mexican style. Or whatever style. Where theres like a massive courtyard/pool in the middle and the house like. Goes around. And theres like. A separate 'house' where the servants are supposed to live. But like. We we occupying cause there weren't any servants. And yeah. Like. Pretty much everyone really does have maids and people to cook for them in Mexico. Well you know. The ones who can afford and aren't the ones doing the cleaning and cooking. Its really weird. I always feel bad asking them to do stuff for me and like. Having them serve me like its a restaurant in my own house but like. Thats just how it is. And they don't care cause its their job. They want to do stuff for you. Still. Weird.

But yeah. We saw License to Wed. At the movies in Guadalajara. And like. Very Bad. If you had any thoughts in your head about seeing this movie, please erase them. Bad.

And well yeah. Then we came back home and yeah. Here I am. And there was this massive storm here last night. That like. Came completely out of nowhere. And apparently it was really dangerous to be outside (like my sisters were at the time) and yah. No Power. And Stuff. And the night before it was literally raining inside the house cause theres leakage everywhere because of the current renovations taking place. I took a photo. So you can see it. Later.

And by the way. There will be many photos of the trip.

Oh and in CD Mexico I did the art gallery thing with my mum. And I think i photographed pretty much everything in the Museo de Arte Moderna. So like. If you ever wanted to go, now you so dont have to cause I have it all photographed. Hahaha.

Anyway. I'm off to watch Epitafios or in English 'epitaphs'. Its like this wicked Spanish crime show.

Adios.