After which we went to a Mezcal making factory and ate in the middle of the desert. What next? Oh yeah. While we were doing all this, we were making our way to Tehuantepec, where we arrived with time only to swim and melt in the insane heat, even though it was dark and 10:00 at night.
The next day we made our way to San Cristóbal de Las Casas. On the way here, we stopped at a national park, and took a boat tour of the Cañón del Sumidero, a canyon which is a part of the Chiapas coat of arms. There are some parts where the canyon walls are more than 1000m high! We also saw crocodiles, bats, vultures, iguanas and monkeys! Then we kept on going until we eventually reached San Cristóbal.
The next day we travelled to a small town (of which I forget the name) which basically consisted of a church and a market place. And I bought an awesome jumper there. Hand made wool thing with lots of colours. We then went and saw how tortillas were made and random other things to do with making food. I also found out that Coca Cola was part of the local religion. No joke. It cleanses the body or something. How retarded is that. Coke really does rule the world.
Ok... So. Next was this waterfall place called Agua Azul, which was really pretty and the water was awesome. We then went to the town of Palenque. Where there just so happens to be many pyramids. And like... the hottest weather in the entire world. No joke. It was absolutely the hottest weather I've ever experienced. I swear we almost melted.
So the next stop was Merida, Bena's dream town. On the way to Merida we stopped for a dip in the Caribbean sea, then stopped for afternoon tea/dinner in Campeche, a really beautiful city (obviously) on the way to Merida.
Merida was our base camp from which we went to the pyramids of Uxmal. The pyramids here were pretty amazing. The one we climbed had 65 steps, which doesnt sound like much, but when you consider that every step is over a foot high, it adds up to a pretty big pyramid. Especially when theres temples on top as well. By these stage we were pretty much pyramid climbing experts and everyone was wondering what is up with the massive stone steps? Mayans were supposed to be really short... Not these people who climb up 40cm steps.
So the next stop was Cancún! On the way to Cancún we went to Chitzen Itza. More pyramids... Woo! Chitzen Itza was rather beautiful, but I was so tired there I couldn't be bothered doing much. So I grabbed a tree and sat for awhile.
So yeah. Cancun was crazy. Our night time activity was CoCo Bongo, the most exclusive nightclub in Cancun. It was crazy as. They had trapeze shows and Beetlejuice and Spiderman and balloons and much, much more like you cant even imagine. So yeah. That was pretty damn cool.
Then the next day we went to Tulum, MORE PYRAMIDS! But these were really really pretty. Because they we beside the Caribbean Sea. I was pretty sad cause I only got to like... spend half an hour there because aparently we were late or something. But you know. It was fun. The following photo is the view from Tulum.
And here is a shot of downtown Cancún.
And well yeah. I went to many of those places. It was pretty awesome. So yeah. After Cancún we were pretty much just making our way back home. We stayed the next night in Villahermosa and then the next night in Puebla. An well yeah. Not much happened in either of those places. We walked around Puebla for a bit and I had the most disgusting ice cream I've ever tasted in my life. And yeah. We made our way back home.
So that is part two of the Ruta Maya entry.
If you want to see more photos click here. They start here. And of course theres heaps more photos of my following adventures (which will be written about in the next entry). So yeah.
Peace.

No comments:
Post a Comment