September 26, 2007

Craziness

Hola a todos! I'm trying very hard to think what I've done since I last wrote stuff. I got sick for one thing. Inflamed sinuses. That was lovely. Aaaaand I've realised that I've gotten very lazy when speaking and writing in English. Because in Spanish they say a whole sentence in one word. So in English I often write or say one word answers.

Ummm. September 15th was Día de la Independencia (Independence Day), which was so fun. For that I went to a small town with 2000 inhabitants called San Ignacio. I went with my family and took Sina (pronounced like Xena.... hehe how cool!) my German freundin with me. And my host brother took about 6 of his crazy guy friends. Soooo. Yeah. At around 11pm on independence day the whole town went to the zócalo (town square) for the grito, where we all shouted ¡VIVA MÉXICO CABRONES! until we had no voices left. [I had to think sooo hard to write that sentence in a way that made sense in English =|] And yeah. I also had to be Sina's translator the whole weekend. Which was crazy hard. By the end of it I was sick of speaking in any language. And was speaking to Mexicans in English and her in Spanish. Hahaha and speaking in random bits of German that I have learnt here/remember from school. [Ummm. please tell me that 'learnt' is a word. because spell check is telling me that its not... =S]

Errr. What else?

Well I had a crazy experience the other night when I went downtown with a couple of exchange students. It was Friday night and we had been in Plazuela Machado (the photo isn't actually the Plaza, its the corner... But we ate at the restaurant on the right. Good food) eating at a restaurant there. And we were walking to Panama's to get desert (Panama's is a chain restaurant in Mazatlán and Culiacán that has THE BEST cake in the entire world), chatting away in English, when suddenly the woman in front of us turned around and screamed 'QUICKLY!' We didn't have a clue what was going on... But when we turned around there was this truck spraying gas everywhere. So we followed this lady, running and covering our faces trying to outrun the truck. Which we did. And well yeah. We turned the corner to get away from it and kept on going towards Panama's. Anyway. We encountered the thing 3 more times before we actually reached the restaurant and when we got there I asked the waiter guy what the hell was going on. And he told us that once a month or something they spray the streets with this disinfectant chemical to clean the streets. Which is all good, but its bad for the lungs you see. Hence the lady running away.

Seriously though. So funny. It was like some movie where we were under attack or something. Hehehe.

So yeah. That was a nice random experience for you. Man. English grammar is killing me. I hope I didn't make a tonne of mistakes.

Don't yet have photos from Independence Day cause Sina still needs to send them to me. But I could probably get photos of our escape from the killer truck soon. Hehehe.

Anyway. Good luck to anyone doing HSC (hahahahahahahaha-yes I am totally laughing at you). Aaaaand. yah. Adiós.

1 comment:

El Tigre said...

So how did you celebrate Xmas?