September 26, 2007

Craziness

Hola a todos! I'm trying very hard to think what I've done since I last wrote stuff. I got sick for one thing. Inflamed sinuses. That was lovely. Aaaaand I've realised that I've gotten very lazy when speaking and writing in English. Because in Spanish they say a whole sentence in one word. So in English I often write or say one word answers.

Ummm. September 15th was Día de la Independencia (Independence Day), which was so fun. For that I went to a small town with 2000 inhabitants called San Ignacio. I went with my family and took Sina (pronounced like Xena.... hehe how cool!) my German freundin with me. And my host brother took about 6 of his crazy guy friends. Soooo. Yeah. At around 11pm on independence day the whole town went to the zócalo (town square) for the grito, where we all shouted ¡VIVA MÉXICO CABRONES! until we had no voices left. [I had to think sooo hard to write that sentence in a way that made sense in English =|] And yeah. I also had to be Sina's translator the whole weekend. Which was crazy hard. By the end of it I was sick of speaking in any language. And was speaking to Mexicans in English and her in Spanish. Hahaha and speaking in random bits of German that I have learnt here/remember from school. [Ummm. please tell me that 'learnt' is a word. because spell check is telling me that its not... =S]

Errr. What else?

Well I had a crazy experience the other night when I went downtown with a couple of exchange students. It was Friday night and we had been in Plazuela Machado (the photo isn't actually the Plaza, its the corner... But we ate at the restaurant on the right. Good food) eating at a restaurant there. And we were walking to Panama's to get desert (Panama's is a chain restaurant in Mazatlán and Culiacán that has THE BEST cake in the entire world), chatting away in English, when suddenly the woman in front of us turned around and screamed 'QUICKLY!' We didn't have a clue what was going on... But when we turned around there was this truck spraying gas everywhere. So we followed this lady, running and covering our faces trying to outrun the truck. Which we did. And well yeah. We turned the corner to get away from it and kept on going towards Panama's. Anyway. We encountered the thing 3 more times before we actually reached the restaurant and when we got there I asked the waiter guy what the hell was going on. And he told us that once a month or something they spray the streets with this disinfectant chemical to clean the streets. Which is all good, but its bad for the lungs you see. Hence the lady running away.

Seriously though. So funny. It was like some movie where we were under attack or something. Hehehe.

So yeah. That was a nice random experience for you. Man. English grammar is killing me. I hope I didn't make a tonne of mistakes.

Don't yet have photos from Independence Day cause Sina still needs to send them to me. But I could probably get photos of our escape from the killer truck soon. Hehehe.

Anyway. Good luck to anyone doing HSC (hahahahahahahaha-yes I am totally laughing at you). Aaaaand. yah. Adiós.

August 15, 2007

We're gonna eeeeeelope to Meh he he ico

Haha. So. The last few days of mine were spent in a town called Tequesquitengo (or something spelt similarly), CD México and Guadalajara. And well. Mazatlán. But like. That doesn't count cause I live here.

So yeah. It was the 50th wedding anniversary of my 'new grandparents' and so we went to the family's lake house in Tequesquitengo. And just like. Hung out for a few days. There were like. 30 of us. Which was pretty cool. People were swimming in the pool, water skiing, whatever. It was awesome. And we had awesome weather the whole time we were there too. So yeah. The house was pretty much like Edrom Lodge, for those of you who know what that is. And yeah. Mexican. And full of awesome food. Except beans are not awesome. Nor avocado, which I hope is spelt right, cause I can only really remember Spanish for it.

And yeah. In Teques my brother went sky diving. And I so wanted to. But you know. Crappy Rotary Laws =P. And the rest of my family went Ultralighting. Which are these weird half plane things and like. You get up to a certain altitude and then free fall until you like. Smack into the ground. But you know. Gently. If you've ever seen that goose movie with the girl from X-Men then those are ultralights. Or I suppose you could always google them.

Yah. So Then we moved the party to Mexico City because that is where pretty much everyone in my family grew up. And yeah. Stayed in the house of my somehow related people friends. Its complicated. I think that the husband is my Dad's brother and that the wife is my Mum's cousin. Its something screwy like that. Could be the other way around. Who knows. Anyway. We stayed in a part of Mexico City known as Coyoacan. Which is named so because of the coyote population that used to dominate that area. And yeah. Its sooooo pretty. I love it. And. Its like. way close to awesome food and Frida Khalo's house. Which I couldn't enter because it was closed when we went. But I went on a tour of Coyoacan with my mum and its a very cultural area. Trotsky used to live there, theres art galleries. And lots of cool stuff. And yeah. Pretty much my entire family either lives or has lived in Coyoacan. And I plan on living there one day too. When I have an excuse to live in Mexico City.

So yeah. The anniversary party itself was... Well it was ok. First we spent the afternoon in a church. At a church service. And I discovered that I'm really truly freaked out by Catholics. Or at least Mexican Catholic church services. And well. The churches themselves. I hate all those morbid bloody pictures of Christ with nails in him and getting whipped and stuff. And those cherub things. Just. Are creepy to me. So. Wont be doing so much hanging out in churches for awhile.

But yeah. After that we went to this restaurant/bar/theatre place for the party. Where we had a room. And just stayed there from about 5 till 1 in the morning. And ate (food was awesome) and drank and danced. And sat there looking awesome in our formal attire. Well you know. Most people did. I think I managed to avoid being photographed all night so hah. No pictures of fat Niki in her awesome dress. Hahaha. Once I've shaken my Rotary weight I'll put it on again and then show you a picture. Though like. You might be waiting awhile. It was, however, an awesome dress.

Blah. So yeah. Then after Mexico City we went to Guadalajara. Which is the biggest pain in the but to type. Why on earth does it need so many 'a's?! And yeah. Stayed at some cousin's house. It was an amazingly awesome house too. Like Mexican style. Or whatever style. Where theres like a massive courtyard/pool in the middle and the house like. Goes around. And theres like. A separate 'house' where the servants are supposed to live. But like. We we occupying cause there weren't any servants. And yeah. Like. Pretty much everyone really does have maids and people to cook for them in Mexico. Well you know. The ones who can afford and aren't the ones doing the cleaning and cooking. Its really weird. I always feel bad asking them to do stuff for me and like. Having them serve me like its a restaurant in my own house but like. Thats just how it is. And they don't care cause its their job. They want to do stuff for you. Still. Weird.

But yeah. We saw License to Wed. At the movies in Guadalajara. And like. Very Bad. If you had any thoughts in your head about seeing this movie, please erase them. Bad.

And well yeah. Then we came back home and yeah. Here I am. And there was this massive storm here last night. That like. Came completely out of nowhere. And apparently it was really dangerous to be outside (like my sisters were at the time) and yah. No Power. And Stuff. And the night before it was literally raining inside the house cause theres leakage everywhere because of the current renovations taking place. I took a photo. So you can see it. Later.

And by the way. There will be many photos of the trip.

Oh and in CD Mexico I did the art gallery thing with my mum. And I think i photographed pretty much everything in the Museo de Arte Moderna. So like. If you ever wanted to go, now you so dont have to cause I have it all photographed. Hahaha.

Anyway. I'm off to watch Epitafios or in English 'epitaphs'. Its like this wicked Spanish crime show.

Adios.

July 30, 2007

So...

Good morning citizens.

So. Since the last time I updated this little patch of Niki... not so much has happened. Well. A few things have happened.

First notable event is that I went to a wedding. A 'cousin' of mine got married. The ceremony was really pretty. Although the only words I really caught from the whole thing were 'pero, siempre dios es primera' which translates to 'but god always comes first'. I swear if I had a dollar for every time the priest said this I would be rich. But yeah. It was quite nice.

So yeah. For the next few days our house was full of family and we all basically just hung out and did nothing but listen to banda (shudders) and eat. Hahaha.

Uhh. Yeah. In the last week or two my family decided that it would be fun to go to random towns in the area for apparently no reason at all. First we went to Concordia. Which I didn't get to take my camera, so there aren't any photos. Then we went to Teacapan to buy some 'callos' (a rare and very tasty type of shrimp), but came back empty handed cause they were too expensive. Then the next day we went to El Quelite. A tiny little town, which has a reputation for awesome local cuisine. And yeah. The reputation is well deserved. Food was great. Its also A really pretty little town. I have lots of photos on flickr if you're interested.

Hahaha. So yeah. That night when I got back from El Quelite. At like 7pm. I had a message on the answering machine and an email from Jorge Medina telling me that I was to change houses that night. Beach my family was going away and I couldnt stay alone in the house. Plus is was about time to change anyway.

So. I had like an hour or two to get all my things together and make my suitcase. And well yeah. I was meant to be staying at Medina's house that particular night. Because my new family had just got back from a funeral. But he took me round there for introductions and they basically just said 'well you're here with all your things, what the hell. Just come and stay tonight.' So yeah. Thats the story of my changing houses.

In this new family I have a Mum (Mónica), a Dad (Marte), a brother (Jorge, 18), a sister (Mariana, 16, who is going on exchnage to Canada soon) and another sister (Andrea, 14). And well yeah. From what I can tell so far. They're awesome. I have't yet met my sisters because they're in Mexico City at the moment. But the whol family is going up for around ten days soon so I'll meet them there.

Nyeah. Turns out I have a pretty large family too. Many relatives in Mexico City on my mum's side. And many from a little town called San Ignacio, which we visited yesterday, on my father's side.

And yeah. This family travels a fair bit to see their family... Which I can so deal with.

So... yeah. Coolness. Hahaha. I just remembered how to say 'make my suitcase' properly in english. But I wont change it cause like. I just wont. You can all live with my bad, Spanish affected english.

Anyway. Until next time.

July 1, 2007

Post Ruta Maya Adventures.

Ok. So this should probably warrant like. Two separate entires... but I'm too lazy. And I'm too lazy to go through this in any actual detail... so.

23-26/05/07: Rotary Conference in Neuvo Vallarta. In which we all stayed in a 5 star all inclusive resort. And if you don't know want all inclusive means, it means that you can eat, drink and do whatever you want for nothing because its all included in the cover price. So. That was well awesome. Especially seeing as the exchange students were only needed for like. 2 things maybe.

27-31/05/07: Yeah. Then I stayed in Puerto Vallarta with my good friend Kristina (an exchange student from Canada who was living there at the time), and Rose (my other Canadian friend). We spend a few nice relaxing beach filled days there and then went to a city named Culiacán, the capital city of Sinaloa and the drug capital of all of Mexico.

01-03/06/07: Yah. In Culiacán it was basically one big three day fair well party because most people are returning to their respective countries at the moment. So yeah. We went out and fare welled everyone. Interesting fact. If you're ever in Culiacan, make sure to ask where the bus is going first. Because even if it says one thing, it can take you to somewhere completely different. Like an hour trip to the outskirt slums of the city. Also, don't take taxis off the street. All the exchange students who live there call a cab company and book a cab and then text the license plate number of the cab to their parents incase anything happens. Its psycho. I'm very glad I live in nice safe Mazatlán.

04-08/06/07: Ok. So Then i was in Mazatlán. But it wasn't really like being at home at all. Because I had Rose staying with me and Kristina was there. So really. It was just like being on holiday in my home town. We went out. To more fare well events. And went shopping and all that usual craziness of holidays.

09-18/06/07: Yeah... These days were spent in La Paz. A nice city that is a smaller, quieter, lazier and, in my opinion, prettier version of my city, Mazatlán. Here I basically just hung around with Prerna and the other exchange students. We went to the beach a few times. Almost got killed by Lina's psycho Mexican boyfriend a few times. And went out more than a few times. So yeah. That was awesome.

And in these last two weeks at home I've been enjoying peace and quiet. And not having to worry about where I'm sleeping tonight and where my next meal is coming from. Good feeling that. And yeah. At the moment my mum is in San Francisco for a wedding so its just been Adhara and me for a few days. Yah. Fun fun.

June 19, 2007

Photos from the Ruta Maya

So. Here are some more photos from the Ruta Maya for your viewing pleasure. They are not in order of where we are, they're just random. So yeah. Have fun.

At Palenque

Clockwise: Marie (Germany), Henrique (Brasil), Gaby (Brasil), Kristina (Canada), Me (in the cool jumper I bought), Heloisa (Brasil), French guy (France), Ilona (Holand), Debora (Brasil)

Alice and I found a touch of Australia in San Cristóbal

And I made some friends in Mexico City...

My Birthday...

Pinche Brasileños (and one German)

At Xcaret (a theme park in Cancun) we (Alice and I) found out exactly how far we were from home.

The Australia club
(Me, Alice, Greg)

The Australasia club
(Mitch NZ, Me, Alice, Greg)

In Mexico City: Rose (Canada), Kristina (Canada), Me (and my camera), Annie (Finland) and Andrea (Germany)

Alice and I (with Kristina in the background) right after we got our noses pierced in Cancun. (You cant really see them in this photo, but trust me, theyre there... and hurt lots)

Our first taste of the Carribean Sea =D
Prerna (India, Uganda, Canada, USA), Me, Sophie (Germany), Alice (Australia =D)

Lisa (Germany), Prerna (India, Uganda, USA, Canada), Sophie (Germany), Andrea (Germany), Alice (Australia) and Me (dying from the heat)

A toast to Australia

Greg, Mitch and I at the markets in Mexico city

Lost in translation...

Around half the group. At Puebla on our last day.


And yeah. Make sure to read the previous two entries so you know all about my fantastic 18 day adventure galavanting around Mexico.

My adventures.

So I dont think I'm going to go through the rest of the Ruta Maya in so much more detail... I'll just go place by place now. So... After my birthday we were still in Oaxaca for another day or so. On that day we went to see the world's fattest tree. It is wider than it is tall and well yeah. Its pretty damn fat. We then went to Mitla, a tiny Mexican town that just so happens to have some old ruins there.


After which we went to a Mezcal making factory and ate in the middle of the desert. What next? Oh yeah. While we were doing all this, we were making our way to Tehuantepec, where we arrived with time only to swim and melt in the insane heat, even though it was dark and 10:00 at night.

The next day we made our way to San Cristóbal de Las Casas. On the way here, we stopped at a national park, and took a boat tour of the Cañón del Sumidero, a canyon which is a part of the Chiapas coat of arms. There are some parts where the canyon walls are more than 1000m high! We also saw crocodiles, bats, vultures, iguanas and monkeys! Then we kept on going until we eventually reached San Cristóbal.

The next day we travelled to a small town (of which I forget the name) which basically consisted of a church and a market place. And I bought an awesome jumper there. Hand made wool thing with lots of colours. We then went and saw how tortillas were made and random other things to do with making food. I also found out that Coca Cola was part of the local religion. No joke. It cleanses the body or something. How retarded is that. Coke really does rule the world.

Ok... So. Next was this waterfall place called Agua Azul, which was really pretty and the water was awesome. We then went to the town of Palenque. Where there just so happens to be many pyramids. And like... the hottest weather in the entire world. No joke. It was absolutely the hottest weather I've ever experienced. I swear we almost melted.


So the next stop was Merida, Bena's dream town. On the way to Merida we stopped for a dip in the Caribbean sea, then stopped for afternoon tea/dinner in Campeche, a really beautiful city (obviously) on the way to Merida.

Merida was our base camp from which we went to the pyramids of Uxmal. The pyramids here were pretty amazing. The one we climbed had 65 steps, which doesnt sound like much, but when you consider that every step is over a foot high, it adds up to a pretty big pyramid. Especially when theres temples on top as well. By these stage we were pretty much pyramid climbing experts and everyone was wondering what is up with the massive stone steps? Mayans were supposed to be really short... Not these people who climb up 40cm steps.


So the next stop was Cancún! On the way to Cancún we went to Chitzen Itza. More pyramids... Woo! Chitzen Itza was rather beautiful, but I was so tired there I couldn't be bothered doing much. So I grabbed a tree and sat for awhile.

So yeah. Cancun was crazy. Our night time activity was CoCo Bongo, the most exclusive nightclub in Cancun. It was crazy as. They had trapeze shows and Beetlejuice and Spiderman and balloons and much, much more like you cant even imagine. So yeah. That was pretty damn cool.

Then the next day we went to Tulum, MORE PYRAMIDS! But these were really really pretty. Because they we beside the Caribbean Sea. I was pretty sad cause I only got to like... spend half an hour there because aparently we were late or something. But you know. It was fun. The following photo is the view from Tulum.


And here is a shot of downtown Cancún.



And well yeah. I went to many of those places. It was pretty awesome. So yeah. After Cancún we were pretty much just making our way back home. We stayed the next night in Villahermosa and then the next night in Puebla. An well yeah. Not much happened in either of those places. We walked around Puebla for a bit and I had the most disgusting ice cream I've ever tasted in my life. And yeah. We made our way back home.

So that is part two of the Ruta Maya entry.

If you want to see more photos click here. They start here. And of course theres heaps more photos of my following adventures (which will be written about in the next entry). So yeah.

Peace.

May 12, 2007

Ruta Maya: pt 1

Hey guys. How you doing? Well. As most of you know, a few days ago I returned from a 17 day trip around México. Let me begin by saying that it was absolutely fantastic. You should all try it some day. Though chances are that unless you go on exchange to Mexico you won't get to do it with 86 other crazy exchange students, therefore it won't be nearly as much fun as my trip was =P

So yeah. This trip was pretty crazy. It involved lots of pyramids and old cities with cathedrals and (multiple) town squares. I have so many awesome photos you would not believe, but I'll post those after I’ve gone through the entire journey otherwise the posts will be far too long. As I am now going to take you through a day by day, blow by blow account of my incredible journey (Mr Rafidi, if you're reading this, you should fully use my blog as a text instead of stinky Lionheart. My travels are so much more interesting than being stuck on a boat for a year. mwa ha ha)


Day One: 20 April: Leaving Mazatlán

So this day we didn't really do anything except meet all the exchange students and catch a bus to Mexico City. Which, by the way, was actually pretty fun. We left Mazatlán at around 1pm and got to Mexico City at 6am. So yeah. It was a fantastic bus trip full pinche brasileños who wouldn't let anyone sleep because they were too busy partying and watching Deep Impact at 3 in the morning. So yeah. That was fun.

Highlight: Meeting Alice Rice, an Australian girl from Sydney who is currently living in a neighbouring district here in Mexico. Her and I are going to be travel buddies from now on.


Day Two: 21 April: C.D. de México

SO. Like I said, we arrived in Mexico city at 6am. When we arrived at the hotel we took our stuff to our rooms, came back downstairs to eat our complimentary breakfast, went back up to our rooms to sleep for an hour, then came back down to leave for a day full of activity (that unfortunately didn't involve going to Teotihaucan). By the way. I was rooming with three fantastic German girls throughout the trip of whom I will post a picture in the next entry along with all the other photos =)

OK. First stop in good ol’ Mexico City was el Palacio Nacional (the National Palace), la Catedral (the Metropolitan Cathedral) and the Markets. This was all situated around el Zócalo, the Central Square in Mexico City, which just so happens to be the second largest in the world after Red Square in Moscow.

So. After running rampant in Central Square for awhile, we headed into a more arty part of the city for lunch. We then had a free afternoon, which, for me, consisted of wandering around the markets with the New Zealand, el Australiano and the Canadas as I was too knackered for Art Museums and the like. (This is why we should have spent another day in Mexico city *nods*)

But yeah. From what I saw of it (which wasn’t much) Mexico City looks absolutely fantastic. In the center everything is so beautiful and green. Even on the outskirts where the slums are, there are trees. And grass.

And yeh. In the night time I was boring and slept.


Day Three: 22 April: C.D. de México a Oaxaca: The day before my birthday

Hehehe. So yeah. Today we didn’t really do much except drive to Oaxaca, which took basically all day.

Leaving Mexico City was pretty surreal actually; driving out of the city took us 2 hours (it actually takes 6 hours to drive from one end of the other). We’d be driving and driving with the curtains down and open them after awhile and we’d still be seeing buildings. Pretty psycho. Big place. I’ve decided I’m going to live there one day.

Yeah. Bus trip. Long and filled with Brazilians dancing down the aisles and lots of Spanish dubbed movies etc. We arrived in Oaxaca sometime around 5 or 6 in the afternoon. Boy do I feel sorry for anyone else who was staying in our hotel that night. Once we’d arrived everyone either jumped, or was thrown into, the pool. I narrowly avoided being thrown in, but I think Timm took pity on me because I was in jeans and let me run away. And yeah. We had a big toast to the beginning of the voyage, which involved every country saying ‘cheers’ or some sort of national chant in their language and taking a shot of tequila in front of everyone. And yes, I am sorry to say that us Aussies toasted with Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi!


Day Four: 23 April: Oaxaca: My 18th Birthday

So. My birthday started at 12am. We’d been up causing a ruckus, setting up speakers and dancing in the hotel, when it turned 12am. Suddenly I was bombarded by Brazilians and people from various other nationalities and well yeah. I had happy birthday sung to me in approximately 20 different languages… That lasted for about an hour. Then I was ‘ju ju’d by the Brazilians (which involves crazy Brazilians surrounding you and jumping up and down yelling craziness in Portuguese). And yeah. Lili, a really sweet Swiss girl (who I was rooming with) brought me a muffin… But it got shoved in my face (as is customary in Mexico) and then it got wet. So I didn’t really get to eat any… But yeah. I didn’t go to sleep until about 3. Twas good.

Then it was rise and shine (at 7) and off to Monte Albán, which is a rather famous, rather large archaeological site in Oaxaca. We pretty much spent the morning there... And Alice and I got lost and kept the bus waiting for like 20 minutes... Which we ended up doing multiple times throughout the journey. We almost got left behind so many times… (Sorry guys. And thanks for waiting)

Anyway. After that we went into Oaxaca town and went to a chocolate factory… and did a fair bit of sampling (mwa ha ha ha). Then through the markets and Kristina and I ate crickets (chapolines). They actually tasted pretty good I thought… Just the fact I was eating a cricket was a bit weird. Though they were pre-killed so that was ok.

Yeah. In the night we went out to eat. We being Kristina, Alice and I, along with random other exchange students. Then we went back to the hotel and they threw me a big party in a German girl’s room. And yeah. This night I think I went to bed later than the night before…

Anyone seeing a pattern here? We seriously averaged on 3 or less hours sleep a night the entire trip. Needless to say, I slept for like. Three days when I got back. I’m still recovering actually. Yeah. I have the flu. Pretty sick. But so does everyone else so its ok.

Oh yeah. On my birthday... they succeeded in throwing me into the pool fully clothed. Yuck.


Anyway. That is the end of the first installment. Its already been something like 1 187 words, which is enough for one entry. So. Stand by for more of Niki’s Ruta Maya Adventures. Next episode coming soon.